writers block / the pursuit of happiness

Posted: February 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

have you ever had those times where all you want to do is get something out of your head and on to a piece of paper, yet when you sit down to put it down, you lose your thought?  I feel like that is where i have been for a while now.  I love writing.  I remember back in jr. high writing poetry for competitions and always placing in the top 2 or 3.  I remember writing for the school newspaper and thinking that one day im going to be a writer for a large newspaper in a big city.  I remember touring the country with 4 of my best friends and working every day to write a song…i tried for one a day.  When did that passion for writing get clouded by the “things i have to get done?”  Ive been working so hard to please everyone that ive left behind a part of me that i enjoyed…a part of me that gave me life.  I guess that is part of this whole blog thing, to get back into writing and try to regain some of the ability that i had before.

Words used to roll of my pencil with ease.  I could sit down and within 15 minutes have a completed lyrical base for a song…now that all seems so foreign.  I sit and stare at a blank sheet of paper thinking to myself, “why cant i do this right now?”  Of course all of the things that i feel are work putting on paper happen at the most inopportune times, in the shower, driving, etc.  I used to carry a notebook in my car and literally pull off the road to write down something that had hit me on the drive home from school.

Here is the thing, we all have things that we love, that bring us to life, lets stop ignoring them and use them to better ourselves AND others.  I think if we all try and take a little time for ourselves to reenergize and recuperate then those around us will feel like they can do the same…and in turn EVERYONE WILL BE MORE HAPPY!!!  Sounds good to me!  what do you think???

Comments
  1. taylorlynne says:

    I think we’re going through the same thing….Cuz I’m really trying to have more focus on the things I love. Brilliant minds think alike….or maybe we just spend too much time together 😉

    By the way….I think you are a fabulous writer….And it’s not just my bias….I loved your writing PRIOR to falling in love with you. 🙂 I’m glad you’re doing this again!

    Tay xo

Leave a Reply

