Heaven / History / Duke & Hendrix / 18 holes with Payne

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

So I was thinking about heaven the other day. What it will be like. The truth is, it will be beyond all expectation or imagination. It’s still fun to consider the possibilities, the endless imaginative encounters that could occur. I think about meeting all those characters from the stories I’ve read in the Bible, asking them questions, finding out if they struggled with the same things that we deal with today and what was ‘left unsaid’ in their written accounts. I imagine a new body that doesn’t ache and crack, a new knee, and walking barefoot on the streets of gold.

I know its strange but I would love to take a look back into history, see all those events that shaped the world. I would love to know the story behind the JFK assassination, walk the decks of the Titanic, experience D-Day, not from books but from a first person perspective. It would be interesting to see if you could change significant events in history what would change in the future, and then be able to change it back. From the Civil War to Pearl Harbor to 9/11 what could have changed if one decision would have been different? I would love the chance to meet Lincoln, Washington, Jefferson, Robert E. Lee and other figureheads of American History, just to know who they were apart from written history.

I love to imagine the chance to play music with the cornerstones of different musical genres. Getting the chance to jam with guys like Duke Ellington, Louis Armstrong, and Count Basie, Jimi Hendrix, Freddie Mercury and Elvis, to name a few, would be invigorating. I would love to watch an all-star cast of musical talent on the stage together in perfect harmony, not clashing because of ‘musical differences.’  I get goose bumps just thinking about the amount of joy that would bring.

I think about pulling out a Driver on the 1st tee of a beautiful golf course and rubbing shoulders with Payne Stewart, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, and Seve Ballesteros. Yes I know its technically a 5-some but in my heaven thats OK cause no one is in a hurry.

Yes I know this is all wishful thinking but I’m a dreamer. Sure sounds cool to me thought!

Leave a Reply

